Stephen F. Badylak DVM, PhD, MD


Dr. Badylak is a Professor in the Department of Surgery, a deputy director of the McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine (MIRM), and directs a laboratory focused upon the use of biologic scaffolds composed of extracellular matrix (ECM) to facilitate functional tissue and organ reconstruction.

Dr. Badylak received his DVM from Purdue University. He then obtained an MS in Clinical Pathology and a PhD in Anatomic Pathology from Purdue University and graduated with highest honors with a MD from Indiana University Medical School. He began his academic career at Purdue University as an Assistant Research Scholar at the Hillenbrand Biomedical Engineering Center in 1983, and eventually served as Director of the Center from 1993-1998. Dr. Badylak was also a Senior Research Scientist within the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Purdue University. He is a charter member and the past President of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS) and has served as the Chair of the Study Section for the Small Business Innovative Research (SBIR) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and as chair of the Bioengineering, Technology, and Surgical Sciences (BTSS) Study Section at NIH. Dr. Badylak is currently a member of the College of Scientific Reviewers for the NIH.

Dr. Badylak holds over 60 U.S. patents, 300 patents worldwide, has authored more than 350 scientific publications and 40 book chapters. Dr. Badylak has served as Chairman or been a member of the Scientific Advisory Board to several major medical device companies. Dr. Badylak is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, a charter member of the Tissue Engineering Society International. He is also a member of the Society for Biomaterials and editor in chief of the Journal of Immunology and Regenerative Medicine. He has received many awards, including the Sigma Xi Scientific Society 2002 Research Award, the Pittsburgh Business Times Hero in Health Care Innovation & Research for 2005, the 2005 and 2008 Carnegie Science Center Award for Excellence, the 2005 Clemson Award from the Society for Biomaterials, the Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award in 2008, and the TERMIS (America's Chapter) Senior Scientist Award in 2012.